© Gene Higgins

The Mettawee School District provides oversight of the education from prekindergarten (PK) through grade 12 to all students in Pawlet and Rupert. The Mettawee School District is one of three school districts within the Bennington Rutland Supervisory Union (BRSU). The Board composition is two (2) representatives from Rupert and four (4) from Pawlet.

The Mettawee School District operates the Mettawee Community School, which is the elementary school for all children from Pawlet and Rupert.  The school is located at 5788 Route 153 in West Pawlet.

The Mettawee School District does not operate a school for grades 7-12.  Per the Mettawee School District Annual Report – “Students can attend any public or approved independent school. This includes public schools in New York like Granville and Salem.”

Find more information at Bennington-Rutland Supervisory Union.



Mettawee Community School

Salem Central School

Granville Central School

Long Trail School

The Dorset School

Burr and Burton Academy